Music of Inevitable Sounds

Veryan Weston – piano
Nora Mulder – piano
Mika Szafirowski – guitar/electr.
Yedo Gibson – reeds
Renato Ferriera – bass/ sax
Joost Buis – trombone/ steel guitar
Saartje van Camp – cello
Pepe Garcia – drums/perc.
Luc Ex – ac. bass
Clare Galagher – sound engineer


made by Eric de Clercq

Dutch Review M.O.I.S.

Exploring the boundaries between sound and music

Luc Ex uses this project to explore the liminal zone where sound and music overlap or merge.
Driven by a passion for both, he has created work for medium-sized ensemble that is based on concrete environmental sounds.
Beauty is of the essence and so is the emotion that music can evoke.
Our entire world is brimming with sound; an omnipresent phenomenon that is hard to escape in many spheres of modern society. Each piece springs from a specific sound that is hard to avoid in this day and age. Think of ventilators, concrete mixers, people talking loudly into their phones, building sites, robots.
These elements add up to a beautiful musical painting, which straddles the middle ground between contemporary music and urban environmental soundscapes while giving a knowing wink to the oeuvres of people like John Cage, Harry Partch or Luigi Russolo.

Nine top-ranking musicians and one leading soundwoman, Nine pieces, all based on a inevitable sound.